As we continue to monitor the situation with the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), we are taking steps to help protect the health and well-being of our student-athletes, coaches and families.

Core Staff/Race Crew

The Minnesota High School Cycling League is comprised of many people filling many roles to get more kids on bikes.

League Org Chart

Board of Directors

The board of directors provides strategic guidance for the Minnesota High School Cycling League. While many of these individuals also play other roles, the board’s accountability is to look forward towards new opportunities in getting kids on bikes in Minnesota, and to ensure legal and fiduciary compliance.

  • Gary Sjoquist (Founding Member, 2009)
  • Libby Hurley (Founding Member, 2009)
  • Mary Drew (2015)
  • Mike Busch (2018)

Core Staff

The core staff of the Minnesota league are the men and women that make the league happen. They are made up from various backgrounds, geographic locations and represent all key stakeholders. They are the eyes and ears of the organization and strive to provide the best opportunity to get and keep kids on bikes.

Joshua KleveLeague Director
Larry AtneosenAccounting
Mary DrewRegistration / Board
Joel WoodwardCoaching Director
Chris OakleyCourse Marshal
Katrina BuddeGRIT / Dirt School
Todd BauerPhoto
Jeremiah VanBockernRace Director
Uğur TosunReferee
Ed HestonTeen Trail Corps
Eileen BendtsenVolunteer Director
Julie GujerAdventure
Tim BocklundAnnoucing
Rich JamiesonCourse Marshal
Aaron HislopCourse Marshal
Johanna HislopCourse Marshal
Chad McDonaldCourse Set
Cathy McDonaldCourse Set
Tim VossbergCourse Set/Dirt School
Brett ReinbacherInfield
Chris KleinInfield
AJ BendtsenInfield
Jack SmithInfield
Lutsen AdrianInfield
Zachary CoughlinInfield
Jack SmudeInfield
Katrina HaseMarketing Communications
Ben JangulaMedical
Christina SpencerMedical Director
Emily GoodReferee/Annoucing
Jackie KnightRegistration
Julie CraigRegistration
Chris BeyerScoring
Krista KleveSound
Paul WisniewskiSponsorship
Bruce BokishTiming/Scoring
Rebecca WalshVolunteer
Derek Chin

Functional Areas

Each core staff member is a part of one or more functional area. In some cases, these areas are defined in the rule book as a committee (example: Rules Committee). Other times, it is a group of people that fulfill a need within the Minnesota High School Cycling League.

League Rules Committee – The league rules committee oversees any appeal made during the race day, oversees the category petition process and is responsible for a participating and voting on the NICA National Rules Committee. The LRC committee members are: Emily Good, Jeremiah Van Bockern, Joel Woodward, Josh Kleve, and Ugur Tosun.

Race Operations – At its heart, race operations are responsible for putting on all races. Operations is broken into a number of sub-groups to fulfill particular tasks. These are:

  • Registration
  • Timing & Scoring
  • Course Marshals
  • Volunteers
  • Infield
  • Course Set

Outreach – This group oversees the MN-GRiT program and Try It Out sessions.

Adventure – This group oversees summer camps, day camps and the Dirt School.

Coach Licensing – This group runs the various educational components required to comply with NICA coach licensing including leaders summits, on-the-bike-skills and mountain bike first aid.

Sponsor & Donor Development – This group oversees sponsorship and private donor development.